Alpha Kappa Delta
      The International Sociology Honor Society      
Your Subtitle text

Chapter of the Year Award

Emory Bogardus Chapter of the Year Award

Alpha Kappa Delta is pleased to announce the 2017-2018 recipient:

California Baptist University

In 2017-18, California Baptist University (Alpha Phi of California chapter) recognized students for their scholarship and research, supported students going into sociology or other related professions/occupations, and promoted campus-based and community-based service activities. Some examples include, but are not limited to, volunteered at the Morongo Basin Sexual Assault Service (completed 52 required hours in rape crisis counseling training), volunteered at Fairmont Park providing food and serving the homeless community, planted trees and helped to clean up debris at Love Riverside,          participated in the Mental Health Awareness Event on April 11th at CBU, volunteered at the Riverside Animal Shelter, and worked with an agency that serves sexual assault victims (provides education and prevention to the community through collaborative meetings, resource fairs, and presentations).


Thank you to all the chapters who submitted an application. Your service and commitment to AKD is admirable!


The Emory Bogardus Chapter of the Year Award has been established to recognize and reward chapter achievement in fulfilling the general purposes of Alpha Kappa Delta: to acknowledge and promote excellence in scholarship in the study of sociology, the research of social problems, and such other social and intellectual activities as will lead to improvement in the human condition. The use of this award is to support chapter development and service activities.

One applying chapter will be awarded $500 to support chapter development and service activities.


  • Open to all active undergraduate and graduate Alpha Kappa Delta chapters.
    • Active chapters are those who have paid their annual dues (chapter representative renewal), have filed all IRS paperwork with the AKD Executive Office, and have submitted a chapter report from the previous academic year.
  • Previous chapter of the year recipients are ineligible to submit an application for two consecutive years following their achievement.

April 19th

Send all completed applications to Bethany Titus, Executive Director, at

 Past Chapter of the Year Award Winners
2016-2017: Eastern Illinois University
             2015-2016: Kent State University
2014-2015: Shawnee State University
2013-2014: Ball State University